Hints & Tips Thursday – Preserving Fresh Chilies

Preserved Chilies

Preserved Chilies

Ever had to buy a whole pack of chilies when you only just need one or two? That was me last week when I had to buy fresh chilies to make the curry paste for my chicken and sweet potato curry. I often have a hard time finding chilies that can be weighed at the supermarket and I’m not the biggest fan of chili, so here’s what I do when I find myself in that situation: I preserve the left over chilies in olive oil.

This works as a condiment like the chili that’s served to you at pizza places and  it can also be convenient for cooking. If you want to dull down the heat of the chili, you can also remove some of the seeds.  In addition, you can choose to add garlic to this for added flavour.

All you’ll need is:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

  • Blender/Food Processor (If you don’t have any of these, finely chop the chilies) 
  • 1 Tablespoon of Olive oil for every 1 Tablespoon of chili. 
  • 1 Tablespoon of Vinegar 
  • Chilies
  • Jar to store them in. I got mine (pictured above) at Pep Home for less than R10

Place the chilies in a blender or food processer or finely chop them. Add the olive oil and vinegar. Place in a jar and keep in the fridge.

This should last you about 2 weeks before it goes off. 

….and that’s all she wrote 🙂

Leave a Reply

