Hints & Tips Thursday – Herb Infused Oils

 

Rosemary Infused Olive Oil

Rosemary Infused Olive Oil

Last week when I made the stuffed pork chops, I had plenty of rosemary left over. As much as I love the flavour rosemary adds to food, what I truly hate is finding Rosemary sprigs in my food. Chewing them isn’t a pleasant affair for me so this idea is perfect for me. Herb infused oils are a nice treat to have around.  Important points to note when making your own herb infused oils include:

  • Olive oil works best for this because it doesn’t go rancid as quickly as most oils and also absorbs the flavour of the herbs best. 
  • Fresh herbs are best for this because they give off a more pungent flavor. 
  • Because fresh herbs are used, it is important to refrigerate the oil to slow down the natural ageing of the fresh herbs. 
  • The oil should not be kept for more than a month. Mine tends to run out way before that because I use it almost daily. 

Now you’re ready to make your own flavoured oils and here’s what you’ll need

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

  • A bottle of an olive oil of your choice 
  • A pack of fresh herbs. I am using rosemary but you can use just about any herb. 
  • A frying pan. 
  • A storage bottle. I got my Olive oil and Balsamic Vinegar glass set from Checkers for R30 (I am the bargain queen 😉 ) 

Please wash your herbs thoroughly. In the pan, add a teaspoon of the olive oil and the rosemary. Heat for about 2 minutes.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This helps bring out the flavour of the rosemary. Cool down for 5 minutes. Place the rosemary sprigs into the bottle then top off with the olive oil and refrigerate. Use when desired. Also works amazingly well drizzled over food.

Love,

V

Leave a Reply

