Cooking With V

When I started this blog, I did it purely out of love. Love for food; love for cooking; love for how food brings people together. I am not a chef, nor do I have any formal training. This is a machine running purely on passion, love and dedication (When I can muster it).

With that said, I think that people complicate cooking great food unnecessarily. I think that great food isn’t often found at restaurants but at dinner tables. Those meals cooked with very little and filled with so much love, passion and shared with the masses. If I can teach one person at every encounter how easy cooking can be then I’d be steadfast on fulfilling my destiny.

Great cooking, in my opinion has a few corner points; Understanding flavours, trusting your instincts, preparation and making the best of what you have. I may not be an expert but I do know quite a bit about the above mentioned. Long story short, I have started a series of hands-on cooking classes for everyday cooks. People looking to build their confidence in their cooking abilities, people looking to learn how to be more economical when it comes to food and those purely looking to learn new recipes.

The launch of Cooking With V has been exciting but also nerve wrecking. You often have to ask yourself if you’re creating a service that’s needed by people and if so, why should they trust your expertise in delivering this service. Your thought process goes from  “Who the hell do you think you are Vanessa?” and  “Who would come to a cooking class hosted by you anyway?” to “No matter what happens, you’re going to be fine…..IF YOU DON’T MAKE A FINANCIAL LOSS”

Even within all this fear, you have to push through and hope for the best. I trust that this series of classes will prove to be very informative for people whilst showing them how easy, quick and economical cooking great food can be. This is after all my ethos in cooking.

If you are in Johannesburg, South Africa, find out more information on Cooking With V  by visiting  the Vanilla Scented Kisses Facebook page.

Come meet new people, cook great food, sip a little and of course; eat!

I hope to see you there 🙂

Love,

V

Leave a Reply

